top of page

New Opportunities

I really do learn something new every day. There are times when I learn I am wrong or I am enlightened on how I am right. Of course, I enjoy being more right than ever being wrong.

I grew up in a very small town and my senior year in English consisted of watching movies and taking tests on what we saw. It was fun and I loved learning about the royalty in England and romance through Shakespeare. I never realized how much my idea of English class would change once I started college.

I very much wanted to be a neurosurgeon. I had visions of a loft in New York with a blossoming career. My reality began to dissolve my dreams during my first college-level English class. I failed twice and I was relieved when my third instructor was a grad student. I guess I felt that I could connect a little easier to someone closer to my age.

I doubt that particular grad student remembers me but I certainly never forgot him. He taught me about the process of writing and simplified the steps you really must take to be a good writer. I kept a post-it note taped to a notebook where I took notes during class. My post-it always reminded me that I could take a subject, cut it up into pieces and put the puzzle together however I wanted.

Writing in any capacity demands at least minimal concentration and the ability to compartmentalize thoughts and ideas. I am currently embarking on a new opportunity. I am excited to start writing again. The chance to study different subjects, learn new things and provide information and educate someone else is quite an honor. It probably sounds simple but I am not a good teacher. I am a decent writer though.

Enjoy your day. Write about it!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page